STUMP'S NATION

"A Forum Dedicated to talking about the BEST (GF)gravity-fed smoker on the PLANET!"
Photobucket
It is currently June 26th, 2017, 8:58 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Awning for a enclosed trailer?
PostPosted: March 23rd, 2011, 5:18 pm 
Platinum 6

Have thanks: 1344 times
Since I don't want Charlie to get all covered in road grime, I'm looking at purchasing an enclosed trailer. I would like to roll Charlie out and be able to cook at any location.

On a local Craigs List, I seen an ad listing a retractable house awning 9' long by 10 wide. Do you think I could fasten this to the side of a trailer like they would on a camper? It would be much more stable than a pop up shelter. Being that the enclosed trailer is lower profile than a camper, I would put the awning on the side opposite the side entrance door. I guess another key item is if it can lock in the stored position? Don't ask me why, but I have some experience with one unrolling at freeway speeds on our old camper several years ago. :o

I'm just a guy in my backyard, playing with fire and smoke
Mark

Post subject: Re: Awning for a enclosed trailer?
PostPosted: March 23rd, 2011, 6:58 pm 
Platinum 6

Have thanks: 689 times
markcp wrote:
Since I don't want Charlie to get all covered in road grime, I'm looking at purchasing an enclosed trailer. I would like to roll Charlie out and be able to cook at any location.

On a local Craigs List, I seen an ad listing a retractable house awning 9' long by 10 wide. Do you think I could fasten this to the side of a trailer like they would on a camper? It would be much more stable than a pop up shelter. Being that the enclosed trailer is lower profile than a camper, I would put the awning on the side opposite the side entrance door. I guess another key item is if it can lock in the stored position? Don't ask me why, but I have some experience with one unrolling at freeway speeds on our old camper several years ago. :o